Hair Straightener or Curling Iron Heat Cozy Tutorial

27 Nov

And here it is, my second tutorial! So, I travel quite a bit. Being a semi-newly married (year and a half, do I still count as a newly wed?), family loving,sorta college student (grad students still count right, sucker for families and all they hold dear, I travel a lot. Especially since my parents are 4 hours away and my sisters and in-laws are three hours away. That doesn’t even begin to include my dear friends that don’t live in here or the grandparents who we never get to see. So, I’m constantly packing and I go now place without my dear friend, the hair straightener. No, I don’t straighten my hair, I don’t even blow dry it, but my bangs, never go anywhere before they have been straightened. I don’t wear lots of make up and I don’t do my hair, but I require five things no matter where I go. My straightener, foundation, mascara, eye liner and my brush. The brush is optional. It’s more for you all’s benefit. :D So, here is how I made my straighteners heat proof travel home.

I got a pot holder from Big Lots. It was $5 but, it came with a really big oven mitt. It is also neoprene on the inside, so I know it won’t melt, but any pot holder will do. You could even get one from the dollar store for cheap. Or you could get one the day after Christmas that had a nice plain pattern or color on one side and put the Christmas part on the inside. Or you could even make your own.

First, take your pot holder and measure which way is best for your iron.

After deciding that, simply sew around the edge of the bias tape on the side and the closed end.

I went around my edges twice just for extra strength. And then you are done. Super easy huh?

Slip your iron in and you can travel anywhere you want, even if your iron is hot. And if you find a potholder that has a pocket on it like mine, you can slip your cord in there and keep it contained.

And tada! Your ready to go. Happy travels. It would also be really good for the teen in your life or better yet a college student!

13 Responses to “Hair Straightener or Curling Iron Heat Cozy Tutorial”

  1. InspiredDreamer November 28, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    Wow, amazing how easy that is, and yet not a lot of people have thought about it I’m sure. Kudos on the great idea!

  2. Jenn November 28, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    Great idea!! I have super curly hair and straighten it daily. I never leave home w/out my straightener… will have to try this!!
    Happy SITS Saturday!!

  3. Joey November 28, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    That is such a handy idea! My daughter has curly hair – I’m sure at some point we’ll add a straightener to the mix.

  4. Linda @ Craftaholics Anonymous November 30, 2009 at 7:47 pm #

    Hey Emily,
    Would love to have this as part of Reader’s Tutorial Week. I’ll send you the details in a sec.
    Linda

  5. amberkayhoward November 30, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    you are funny sister.

    • emilydawnwright December 1, 2009 at 1:28 am #

      How is this funny sister? I travel a lot and you know I never leave without it. You are just jealous.

  6. melissa December 22, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    genius!

  7. jojoebi October 29, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    great tutorial
    I have included it in my Christmas Gifts To Sew round up
    http://jojoebi.blogspot.com/2010/10/lots-of-gifts-to-sew.html
    thanks
    jo

  8. JoeBlogs October 7, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Hi I had a little issue viewing your site but other then that it is a really nice webpage

  9. push mower July 29, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times
    previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  10. Meredith October 12, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    My partner and I stumbled ovber here from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward
    to looking over your web page again.

  11. Tammie March 14, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

    Useful іnformation. Luckу me I discovered your site by
    accident, and I’m shocked why this accident diid not took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Handmade Holidays Tutorials « Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog - December 22, 2009

    [...] Hair Straightener or Curling Iron Heat Travel Cozy at licking lollipops [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

