Cupcake Stand

5 Apr

This might be my most favorite project I have ever made. I love it so much.

Isn’t it awesome!! I found the tutorial for the this at a blog called the Giver’s Log. One of the best parts? The tiers are interchangeable and collapsible.  It was super easy, cheap and I love the way it turned out.

Here are the supplies I used. The biggest thing is to get a candle stick that has a hollow center. So here is an excuse to go thrifting. I took Dan on Sunday and he loved it, so it looks like I have a new thrifting partner! I know you are jealous. It’s ok, my husband is amazing. Then the next big thing is to get an all thread, drawer pull, and nuts and washers that fit your all thread. I got all of that at Lowes for dirt cheap. Then you just get those cheap plates from where ever you want them from. The first ones I got from Wal-Mart, the second ones I got from Target and the third set I got from Michael’s in the Dollar Bin.

It’s important to tape the center before you drill it so it doesn’t chip. The cheap ones from Micheal’s still chipped a little when Dan drilled the holes for me, but the center candle stick/top drawer pull covered the chips so it wasn’t a big deal.

I spray painted my candle sticks so they matched better. I tried to find a nice semi neutral shade, but I couldn’t go too boring.

Here is the second set of plates.

Those plates are the same size but the first two has a small plate on top and a large plate on the bottom. I like those the best, but the same size looks good too. Here it is from the side.

I love it so much. And since my kitchen is so small it will be easy to store since it collapses!

3 Responses to “Cupcake Stand”

  1. cha cha April 5, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    LOVE them, I can’t wait to try it

  2. Jess Tankersley April 5, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    LOVE!!! This is officially my favorite of your projects so far! And I love the blog makeover!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some of my projects really do get used! « licking lollipops - August 19, 2010

    [...] Aug So do you remember my tiered, interchangeable trays? Well, I use one of them in my home everyday. It has my homemade pears on it. But sometimes my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

