I Heart Chalkboard Paint

26 Aug

I bought an old window at Goodwill several months ago, and had been cleaning it up and deciding what to do with it for awhile. I decided to chalkboard paint one of the panes, and hang it in my kitchen to write our weekly menu on (making a weekly menu, and following through with cooking is one of my goals to accomplish before the end of the year). I used Rust-Oleum brand chalkboard paint that I bought at Home Depot. It took about 4 coats, but I was cool with that…because the end product is totally worth it.

I haven’t decided what I want to do with the other pane yet…I’m considering a decal of some kind, or putting some kitcheny fabric/scrapbook paper behind it with some pictures. Not sure yet, but I do know that I want to be able to change it…so nothing too permanent. Anyway, without further ado, here’s a pic of my pretty new menu window.

I’m also considering putting some little hooks along the bottom to hang little cutesy kitchen things on.

p.s. don’t mind my photog skills (or lack of)…like my reflection in the window?

p.s.s. I am coming along very nicely with my goals, if you were interested…we are now into week 2 of meal planning, and it is working out wonderfully (I use the kraftfoods website…it rocks). I also have done a little closet cleaning out/reorganization.

2 Responses to “I Heart Chalkboard Paint”

  1. Jen Mendenhall August 26, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Chalkboard paint is so cool! It kinda blows my mind.

  2. amberkayhoward August 26, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    This is cool, Meg.
    You should come visit us in PA because there is a giant warehouse of used windows and doors and such. Your creative mind would be at home there. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

