Elephant Map Art Tutorial Phase 2

7 Sep

Ok, yesterday we tackled the map portion. So this is what you should have:

Next we need to make the elephant silhouettes.

What you need to do is go online and find a silhouette of something you want. I can me any animal, thing, person, whatever. Just find a picture and print it out the size you want your silhouette to be.

Once you print it out, cut it out.

After it is cut out, trace it on whatever you want your silhouette to be on. I just used some simple card stock. You could use a cardboard or a thin wood if you wanted to use the jigsaw to cut it out. The dimension either of those would give you would be pretty cool. I went the easy route and just did card stock though. Whatever you use, make sure you can paint on it though, so I wouldn’t suggest using plain old typing paper.

Once you have your silhouette traced, cut out the silhouette again. Be careful this time though because this is the final product.

Once you get both of your elephants or all of your silhouettes cut out, paint them with some brown or black paint. I chose brown since my map was so brown. I liked the brush strokes in mine, so I didn’t try to make them perfect. I figured it went well with the distressed, aged look of the map. At this point, they might want to curl up a bit since it’s just card stock. Find your nearest graduate student and borrow all their books for the semester and leave your elephant silhouettes to press for a couple of hours or over night like I did. Caution, make sure your paint is dry. If you get paint on their books, they will come after you. Trust me, these are my text books for this semester and if someone got paint on them, I would go nuts. But I like books too…..

After your silhouettes are dried and pressed just use some double stick tape to put them on your map. And you are done with your changeable piece of art!!!

I hope you are as happy with yours as I am with mine!! Now go hang it up. I’ll show you a grand reveal of my bedroom soon!

2 Responses to “Elephant Map Art Tutorial Phase 2”

  1. angelina September 7, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    i love this craft! my sister loves elephants, so i’m thinking christmas gift? thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Elephant Map Art Tutorial « licking lollipops - September 7, 2010

    [...] where you could take the elephants off. This way I can change the silhouette when my decor changes. Tomorrow I’ll post the next phase of making the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

