first round a hit!

16 Oct

So the first round of deserts were a hit. everyone really seemed to like them. And everywhere I go, the apple pear crumble  pie is a really big hit. So I decided to share my recipe with everyone. I got the original recipe of kraftfoods.com. I heart kraftfoods.com big time. Here is a direct link. I however never follow a recipe exactly. I just can’t do it. So, here is my version of this recipe.

40 ish Vanilla Wafters – crushed

1/3 cup brown sugar – packed

1/3 cup butter – melted

1 Pie Crust – mine is a ready made one from Pillsbury, I was leery of the off brands in this case

3 apples – sliced

2 pears – sliced

1/3 cup granualted sugar

1/3 cup flour

2 very healthy shakes of cinnamon

Heat your oven to 375

Make sure your fruit is sliced. Mix wafer crumbs, butter and brown sugar.

Mix apples, pears, granulated sugar, flour and cinnamon.

Put pie dough in bottom of pie pan, and spread cream cheese mixture to cover the bottom of pie. Dump fruit mixture, spread crumb mixture on top.

The fruit will be very full, so you have to kind of arrange it in the pan, but it makes for a full pie and pie filling is my favorite. The crumb mixture will be gooey like, so spread it on top of the fruit the best you can.

Bake for 35 min, covering after 25 with foil. Once crust is brown and fruit look soft, you are done!! I know the immediate this to do at this point would be to eat it, but it really is best if you put it in the fridge and chill until cold. Although it was good warm 😀

2 Responses to “first round a hit!”

  1. amberkayhoward October 20, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    yummmmmmm… pie!…

  2. amberkayhoward October 20, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

    this is Jay, btw.

Leave a Reply

