Gloves and a New Coat

25 Oct

So this project was born out of necessity and just plain wanting something for a long time and never giving in. I made hobo gloves out of some tall socks that I have worn about three times. You can find the original tutorial here. I did change it a bit. She used dress socks, and I used those really talk socks you can find around this time of year. The ones that go all the way up to your knees, or if your me, above your knees.

gloves and coats 003gloves and coats 004

Since I used taller socks, I made the gloves longer, so they come half way between my wrist and elbow. I also put the toe part of the sock on the back of the gloves so it can cover my fingers if they get cold.

gloves and coats 001

One thing she did that I wish I would have looked at her tutorial again before I did it was that she made a hem on the cut ends of the gloves, and I didn’t. It’s ok because it kind of rolls up this way and hides the stitching, but the inside of my socks are pretty fuzzy and this makes it show. But oh well, I really like them and I’ve always wanted a pair of hobo gloves. And this was free, because I already had the socks. While I was at Wallie World yesterday, they had socks similar to this that were knee socks for $3.00. So, if you don’t have any cute socks, they have them there. But read Disney’s tutorial first then, look at mine. She does a better job at tutorials.

On a different note, I got a new coat yesterday. I really needed a new one and this is one that you can take apart so it is actually four coats in one because the inner lining is a jacket that is reversible. And the outer jacket is like a rain coat, and I really needed one of those too. I’m excited about it, but since my style adviser (Amber) wasn’t here, I need your advice about the color/pattern.

gloves and coats 005

I really like the colors, and the pattern, but I’m not sure how much I like it on the outside of the main coat. What do you think? I’m serious, please post a comment on whether you like it or not. I just can’t decide, I do, but for me? Is it too wildish? I just can’t decide, so I didn’t take the tags off and kept the receipt. And it was only $50, so that’s not bad for all that plus a lot of coats like that, are really expensive. And I won’t need a new coat for several years because I got it really big, and I just like it bigger.

On another different note, I found the cutest way to display some of my pears until I get a cute bowl to put them in.

gloves and coats 007

4 Responses to “Gloves and a New Coat”

  1. jessandtyler October 25, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    I need to make some gloves like that! Love them. And I really like the coat too. I know it may be a bit of a stretch for you (in your opinion, not mine), but I think it probably looks awesome on you!

    Love you, Em!

  2. Disney October 25, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    Oh my goodness, thank you for trying my tutorial, and linking to me! I LOVE your gloves, I love how you kept the toes on so you could fold them over. Ingenious. I’m going to use this as my feature for Tuesday. (Is it cheating to feature something that originated from my blog?? I hope not!)

    P.S. ADORABLE coat!! I love the outside print! How cute would that be with some narrow jeans and a bucket hat?! Keep it!

  3. jayhoward October 25, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    Amber here. The main problem I see is the gloves and coat clashing horrendously. Other than that – I like the gloves a lot and the coat is pretty cool.

  4. emilydawnwright October 26, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    I promise to only wear the gloves with my black jacket and never with my coat. And I’m gonna keep the coat.

Leave a Reply

