Last Name Sign Tutorial

7 Nov

This is my first ever tutorial and I’m really excited about it. And the project is really easy, slightly time consuming if you have a long name or word that you are trying to do, and relativity cheap. Here is my finished project:

sign tutorial two 015

I really like how it turned out. The ribbon is a bit overwhelming, so I wish I had used a different one, but that’s ok.

Materials needed:

Foam Board – like the poster board but with foam in it

Fabric to cover your letters in

Mod Podge

Brushes

Scissors/Craft Knife

Painted Dowel Rod/Stick of Some Kind

Ribbon

Hot Glue Gun

 

Start out by tracing your letters on to the foam board.

Sign Tutorial 002

I printed mine, cut them out and then put them on there and traced them. I don’t have free handing abilities when it comes to neatness.

Next, you cut your letters out of the foam board.

Sign Tutorial 006

After you have all your lovely letters cutting out, it might be hard to cut them, fyi, Meg was having problems:

Sign Tutorial 007

Next you cut out your fabric to about and 1/2 to 3/4 in extra around your letters.

Sign Tutorial 012

After that is done, cut your fabric in to where it meets the foam board on places where there are joints or curves. So it makes it easier to get the edges smooth when you Mod Podge.

After your fabric is ready, get your Mod Podge out. Apply a generous amount to your first letter and lay your fabric on there making sure you get all the air bubbles out.

sign tutorial two 002

Wait until that stage dries just a little. This way the fabric won’t slip while you are modging the sides down. (Yes, I just came up with the word modging)

Next, apply a generous amount of Mod Podge to one side that you want to wrap the fabric around on. I like to do all the straight sides first, they are the easiest ones.

sign tutorial two 006

Once you have the straight sides done, do the corners and everything else so your sides are all covered and your letters are done!

After your letters are dried a bit, get your ribbon out that you want the letters to hang from and hot glue the ribbon onto the back of your letter. If you don’t have a thick enough part of the letter to hot glue the ribbon on to, put a dab right in the middle of the ribbon and stick that part to the letter. After that cools enough to touch, fold one side over, hot glue that, then the other side making the ribbon come to a v and hot glue that.

sign tutorial two 010

After your letters are done, cut the ribbon to how long you want it and then make a loop on the opposite end of your letter big enough for your stick to go through and hot glue the ribbon to make the loop.

Once you get all your loops and letters, string them on there and you should have a finished sign! Put what ever kind of hanger you want, I used twine stuff and tied a knot at each end then put a dab of hot glue to make sure it stays in place and hung it on my front door.

This was super easy and made a really cute sign for my front door but could be used for anything. It would be really cute hanging on child’s bedroom door. Hope you enjoyed my tutorial. I’m going to have another one soon on how to make the grapefruit/oranges that I blogged about a few days ago.

2 Responses to “Last Name Sign Tutorial”

  1. Jess Tankersley November 7, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    Dear Emily and Meg,

    This post made me infinitely more excited to move to KC with you guys so that I can be a part of your craft nights. If I were doing this project with you all, though, it would have taken me MUCH longer…hehe.

    Signed,
    Jess

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eat Sign « licking lollipops - January 27, 2010

    […] I got those cardboard letters and modpodged some fabric on them. It’s really similar to the last name sign tutorial that I posted about earlier. I really like the way they turned […]

Leave a Reply

