Christmas Decorations!

18 Nov

So, in my family we have a rule that you can’t decorate for Christmas until after my older sister’s birthday. Well, I totally just broke that rule. Dan-the hubby, is on vacation from work this week and we decorated tonight. We aren’t home for a whole evening together all that often, and we don’t have all the much time all that often, so we took advantage of it. And I love it. I got several things the day after Christmas last year and had forgotten all of them! For a tree I have my mom and dad’s old tree, so it is sheddingย  bad and getting pretty sparse. So, they had those giant ornament balls last year and I picked up several to take up a lot of room so the tree didn’t look so sparse. I also got those giant, ceramic lights that are really vintage style. I love how it looks. And I got a new tree topper. I had completely forgotten all about all my new stuff. It was like Christmas morning of decorating ๐Ÿ˜€ Without further adieu, here are my decorations.

Sorry, it is a bit blurry, I didn’t realize that. The little tree beside the big tree has all ornaments that my older sister has made for the hubbs and me. She does it every year along with our Christmas present.

This is a little tree my mom made me. It is made out of clear beads, mainly starburst beads. I wish I could give you guys a tutorial on it. It is so pretty with the lights in it. The materials are beads, starburst and the three prong ones (I don’t know the name of them), safety pins, and craft wire.

Here is my table. I love the round ornaments in that candle holder. You can’t really tell, but that red container is felt and has a really intricate cut pattern in the front of it. It’s holding all the cloth napkins we use. Yes we use cloth napkins, I just like it better and there are no children in my house, so I don’t have the much laundry and stuff as it is.

Please ignore the clutter, I was trying to get the stockings and hangers. Plus the plate and bells in the middle. Those are were brought back from Nicaragua by my mom-in-law for me. They depict the manger scene.

Snowflakes that I put on my curtains. I just like them ๐Ÿ™‚

Just a pretty one with all the lights turned off. Hope you are having a great time decorating your house!

Linking up to Tip Junkies Tour of Homes

11 Responses to “Christmas Decorations!”

  1. Jess Tankersley November 19, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    Can I come over and see it? I made it to KC! Call me.

  2. Laurie November 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    The last picture reminds of the tree in “A Christmas Story” ……..all you need now is the Leg Lamp!!!!

    (Let me know if you’re not sure what I’m talking about!)

    Lovely scenes though…..

    My head wants to fly off and explode thinking about Christmas decorations. Sad, I know. But I shall think of your festive place and calm down as I drag mine out next weekend.

    Thanks for your sweetness. I love your blog …..

    http://youmusttakeyourchance.blogspot.com/

    • emilydawnwright November 20, 2009 at 1:09 am #

      I’m so glad that you enjoy my rantings. It is a therapeutic process for me and I’m happy to share it with anyone ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Jeanette November 21, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    Don’t you just love Christmas tree lights when it’s the only lighted area in the house? I do! Hubby got the boxes down from the attic last night for me, and now it looks like Christmas threw up in here! LOL
    (dropping by from SITS to say hi)

    sweetjeanette.blogspot.com

  4. Hartline Lavon November 28, 2009 at 1:54 am #

    Hello everybody, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that’ll probably involve a car trip and seeing something new in Indiana I haven’t seen yet.
    You write new post at Thanksgiving?

  5. Michelle December 8, 2009 at 12:46 am #

    I love the ornaments with the candles! Fun colors!

  6. Susan December 9, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    You know, when I was a little girl we had the original huge bulb Christmas lights. They got terribly hot and would burn you if you touched one. I hated those lights and was so excited when my parents finally updated to the tiny lights that blinked! LOL But seeing yours on your tree with those big ornaments is so vintage and nostalgic – very, very nice!

    • emilydawnwright December 9, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

      I love “vintage”. It reminds me of a time that was simpler and didn’t have the distractions of today. I say this like I know what I’m talking about, like I was there. Mom my said that I was born in the wrong decade. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Lianna December 14, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    I LOVE the snowflakes on the curtain….great idea!!

    You can see our decor here…http://bethouaknight.blogspot.com/2009/12/christmas-at-knight-home.html

  8. R B stewart December 12, 2016 at 2:55 am #

    I found a bead Christmas tree just like yours at a local thrift store. I paid $10.00 for it last year. I’m a sucker for anything homemade/handmade and is offbeat. I love my little tree!

  9. Kathie January 14, 2017 at 7:10 pm #

    Can you ask for the pattern for the beaded Christmas tree, please. Oh, the bead you don’t know, the three points is call a tri-bead.

Leave a Reply

