Guest Blogger!

18 Jan

This week I’m going to be bring light to an issue that is very close to my heart. There are so many people who suffer with depression silently. I have struggled with this for many years. To start this week off, I have Brenda from Therapeutic Crafting!!

Hello! I am Brenda, AKA Brenbren in the blogging world.
First, I just wanted to give a big thanks to Emily for giving my this great opportunity to share my story with people.

Emily emailed me with the idea to talk about my battle with depression. I have done several posts about my struggle. I would like to share my story along with how I found crafting to be so therapeutic.

I just ask that you take the time to read all the links I attached in this post. They go in greater detail about my battle and I also explain many things about depression.
After a big move across 3 states, I found myself very alone. I write more detail about it HERE. I struggled with mild depression for a few years, but was able to maintain it with exercise and meaningful friendships. Then I gave birth to a beautiful little girl. It all went down hill from there. I had severe post partum depression and began having suicidal thoughts. I was put on medication and seemed to be doing better. (read more about it HERE). Then a bomb shell dropped. I found out my mom had terminal lung cancer. Before she started chemo and radiation we made blankets together. (posted HERE)

I can’t tell you how many tears I have shed snuggling this blanket wishing my mother was not sick or wishing I could be there through her battle with chemo and radiation.
Well, hubby graduated and our medical insurance changed. My psychiatrist did not accept my new insurance so I was forced to go off my medication cold turkey. Well I rebounded HARD CORE. I attempted suicide, but luckily I am still here to tell my story. I defiantly had angels watching out for me that day:) You can read very raw, real, and emotional posts about it HERE, HERE, and HERE.
That is most of my posts about my battle. I found my heart changing and realized depression had changed me. I want to share my story, educate people, uplift individuals, and inspire those along my journey.
I want to tell everyone that depression is a disease. It is no different to take an antidepressant to make your hormones level out, than it is taking insulin every day to make your pancreas work, found HERE. I talk about what it feels like to have depression HERE. Sorry to keep sending you to other posts, but I already wrote it all down.
I found working with my hands very therapeutic. SO, naturally, I named my blog “Therapeutic Crafting” (www.therapeuticcrafting.blogspot.com). I blog to share my creativity, but mostly because it is a form of therapy for me.
A few of my favorite things that inspire me and help bring joy and peace into my life is the

Reading Corner I did for my children! Found HERE.

Painting is a great past time for me. I just finished my latest one found HERE,

but you can find more on my blog HERE and HERE and more, but I want to leave you the opportunity to discover them.

I have sewed, painted, Mod Podged, built, and hot glued myself through many difficult times. Depression has been very difficult, but I have a silver lining in it. I have become more compassionate. I grieve for those who grieve, I morn with those who morn. I wish to ease others burdens. Please read HERE (my offer still stands). Please read my blog. I want to share my story, I want to uplift and educate. I want others to realize they are not alone, but most of all I want people to realize it’s okay to get help and talk about it.

One Response to “Guest Blogger!”

  1. brenbren January 18, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    The flat iron cozy is really a great idea. I was thinking it would be good just to keep all the wires together;)

Leave a Reply

