Eat Sign

27 Jan

So, there is a show that I am semi-ashamed to admit that I watch occasionally. Only when I happen to be home and it’s on. Anyway, every time I see the show, I’m amazed by the house the main character lives in. I really love it, I esp love the kitchen. I have kitchen envy of almost any kitchen, but esp this one. Every time I watch it, there is a sign in the kitchen by the table.

It’s that sign that says EAT in the corner. It always catches my eye, so I thought, I can make that. So I did. I love when I see something and then I just go do it. It’s awesome. I got those cardboard letters and modpodged some fabric on them. It’s really similar to the last name sign tutorial that I posted about earlier. I really like the way they turned out.

Here is the back of the letters.

Here they are above my table. I put them up using command hook adhesive. The letters are super light, so that adhesive seems to be holding them up pretty well.

Our apartment is tiny, so our living room is our everything room. Well everything but our bedroom. We do have one of those. So the Eat sign really helps the table not look quite as silly being in the living room. (By the way, I have really bad kitchen envy because mine is tiny and I love to cook and am severally limited by this kitchen. I’m talking severally. Like you don’t understand, food is a way of life for my family. You should have seen my grandma’s cook. You should see holidays at my parent’s house. You should see when people come to my house. Well you get this gist)

Oh and take note of that painting. We just got it. I really like. It was at one of those starving artist shows, so it was pretty cheap. Birthday present from the hubbs. Yep, my birthday isn’t until March…

6 Responses to “Eat Sign”

  1. Jess Tankersley January 27, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Wow, I seriously love this. I think I want to make one for our dining room that says “LOVE” since we have those MIcah 6:8 verses up. I might do this today while I watch some Mad Men! Thanks for the idea! And seriously: Joann’s date soon! I am off all day Friday and most likely Saturday (there is a chance that I could get called in.)

  2. amberkayhoward January 27, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    This is super cute. Big fan.

  3. Kristi January 28, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I saw that in the show too and want to make them. I live an hour away from the hobby lobby but have ever intentions of making e-a-t letters too when I make it there! They look cute in your house!!

  4. Stephanie January 28, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I have E-A-T in my kitchen too!

  5. Fawn January 28, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    That looks great. I have been looking for something to put above my table–I think this might be it. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Andy Porter January 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Cute! I have actually been planning on making an “Eat” sign too! How fun! Thanks for linking!

    Andy
    Poppies at Play

Leave a Reply

