On the first night…

29 Mar

So on the first night Amber and Misty here, we just made dinner and hung out. We decided to do a taste test between Mac and Cheese. I had always wondered if it was worth it to spend more and buy the more expensive one that we will refer to as K or just get the cheap one we will call GV.

K is always on the right and GV on the left.

The packages look pretty similar.

Notice that K’s bowl on the right is larger. But we still thought that there was more in GV. K’s cheese looked much easier and required less butter and milk. GV needed a lot of butter. And we did both according to package directions.

This was by no means a scientific test, nor should you take our answers to mean anything. You should do the taste test with your family. the only person who didn’t know which mac and cheese was which was Dan, so it was a pretty biased test probably. We tried to keep open minds, but defiantly not a blind taste test. And having the two different size bowls wasn’t accurate either. Can you tell I’ve actually taken classes in this? I have, several actually…..

Anyway the Results!!

Two K, 1 GV, and one I can’t tell a difference!

Do the test yourself and let me know what you and your family thinks.

3 Responses to “On the first night…”

  1. InspiredDreamer March 29, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Hey there! I love that you did a taste test. Let me just say though, that you should have used the regular elbow macaroni for K, because the spirals automatically give you less. NOT like I’ve been eating Mac & Cheese for long enough to know. πŸ™‚

    Here’s my suggestion too: Add two slices of American Cheese to either box, and they’ll both taste way better. If you want to be really out there, add some garlic and cumin. πŸ˜€

    Have an Extraordinary Day!

    • emilydawnwright March 29, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      very nice on the cheese and spices. I usually have shredded cheese in the house and we add that, but i wanted to prepare it the way that the box said. And you are right about the elbow noodles. i didn’t think about that till the end.

  2. kaylainsoutheastasia March 30, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I actually ate the K brand of Mac and Cheese today! How weird since I haven’t eaten that since, well, probably over a year at least. There is a western grocery store in Chiang Mai, so when I go visit I stock up on junk like that. I actually bought it for Morgan since I don’t really like it that much. We ate ours with pepper and barbecue sauce.
    Speaking from a sciencey point of view…the added butter for the GV brand would level the taste playing field since it looked like the K brand’s imitation cheese was more appetizing.

Leave a Reply

