Anniversary Blanket

8 Jun

My younger sister got married a year ago, so I needed something to celebrate her anniversary. So I’ve been working on a crocheted blanket for a while and she was the recipient the entire time, the event for giving just changed. They are moving in August and I thought a nice blanket would be a good gift because they could take it with them.Β  (They only get to take a limited about of stuff)

Here is Amber and her husband Jay.

They are pretty cute. They also have a pretty cool blog about community which is why they are moving in August. Community, not the blog.

So here is the blanket I made them:

I really planned it for their living room, but it looks great on their bed. And I just picked the colors because I thought they would like them, but they match so well.

The squares of color are giant granny squares and then I just double crocheted them together. I was impressed at how fast it really came together. It didn’t take me nearly as long as I expected. They seem to like it pretty well, and it is surprisingly warm. With all those holes I thought it might be kind of light but when I was finishing it up, I noticed how warm it was. Esp since it was like 90 degrees outside. πŸ™‚ Now you want to be friends with me don’t you? So you can get cool presents too.

3 Responses to “Anniversary Blanket”

  1. jayhoward June 8, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Thanks for the gift! We love it! πŸ™‚ Everything about it is perfect for us, the colors, the size, the craftsmanship, which makes it pretty much the best blanket ever.

    • emilydawnwright June 8, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

      thanks jay. that might be a bit of an overstatement but i’m glad that you really like it πŸ™‚

  2. Amber Kay June 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Nope, that’s not an overstatement. He is right. Best blanket ever for sure.

Leave a Reply

